Management Committee

Established in 1975 as the Illawarra Ethnic Communities Council Inc, the Multicultural Communities Council of Illawarra is a community based not-for-profit organisation which seeks to represent the interests and needs of people from culturally and linguistically diverse (CALD) backgrounds throughout the Illawarra and Shoalhaven. In 2012 the MCCI expanded its services and support to the wider NSW and ACT areas with the delivery of the Partners in Culturally Appropriate Care program (PICAC). 

The MCCI is governed by a team of twelve (12) volunteer Management Committee members. The role of the governing body is to oversee the operations and activities of the MCCI to ensure the Council's aims, mission, vision, values and objectives are fulfilled as stated in the Constitution.

The Management Committee’s key roles include:

  • develop and approve policies and procedures
  • develop and implement the MCCI’s strategic and business plan
  • manage financial, staffing, and legal responsibilities

Management Committee members are experienced individuals with expertise in the community, business and multicultural sector. The members of the management committee meet monthly and provide expertise and guidance to the organisation in the area of governance and strategic direction.

The MCCI’s management committee are elected by the organisations financial members. Elections for half of the management committee occur at each Annual General Meeting. Committee members are elected for a two-year term and the management committee members elect the office bearers at the first meeting after the Annual General Meeting.

The MCCI committee members are a vibrant and dedicated team which proudly represent 10 cultures and participate on various regional, state and national boards and advisory groups, representing the rights and needs of people from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds.  The networks and advisory groups address various state-wide issues pertaining to policing, workforce diversity, citizenship and settlement, aged care, youth, settlement and refugee issues. Their participation making a valuable contribution to multicultural affairs, and promotes access, equity, harmony and social inclusion by advocating on behalf of all people from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds living in NSW.


  • Ken Habak OAM, Chairperson and Public Officer
  • George Bartolo OAM, Senior Vice Chair
  • Angela Ljubic, Secretary
  • Tomislav Vinko Begic, Treasurer

Committee Members

  • Leissa Pitts, Assistant Secretary
  • Lazo Gorgiev, Assistant Treasurer
  • Daniel Dragan Brankovic
  • Nicholas Marin
  • Dr Husayn Aly