Board of Directors

Established in 1975 as the Illawarra Ethnic Communities Council Inc, the Multicultural Communities Council of Illawarra is a community based not-for-profit organisation which seeks to represent the interests and needs of people from culturally and linguistically diverse (CALD) backgrounds throughout the Illawarra and Shoalhaven and the ACT and Queanbeyan.

MCCI is governed by a skills based eight (8) member Board of Directors. The role of the governing body is to oversee the governance of MCCI to ensure its vision, purpose and strategic objectives are achieved.


The Board of Directors are

  • Ken Habak OAM, Chairperson
  • Leissa Pitts, Deputy Chairperson
  • Angela Ljubic
  • Tom Begic
  • Nicholas Marin
  • Dr Husayn Aly
  • Duncan Brown
  • Lyn Cuell


The Board of Directors can be contacted as follows:

Chris Lacey, CEO and Company Secretary, phone 02 4229 7566 or email